Rhodes Scholarships for Southern Africa

Host: Rhodes Trust
Level: Postgraduate Degree
Study in: UK
Value: £13,658
Course starts: October 2019
Deadline: 15 August 2019

UK scholarships

The Rhodes Scholarships for Southern Africa is a postgraduate awards supporting exceptional all-round students at the University of Oxford. The Rhodes Scholarships to Oxford are open to applicants from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland.

Who is eligible?

Applicants from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland

Field of study

Eligible full-time post-graduate degrees offered at Oxford University

Number of scholarships

Ten in total: 4 from South Africa at Large, 1 from KwaZulu-Natal, 1 from  Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland (1), and one each from four schools, namely Diocesan College, Cape Town; Paul Roos Gymnasium, Stellenbosch; St Andrew’s College, Grahamstown; and South African College School, Cape Town.

Scholarship value

A Rhodes Scholarships for Southern Africa covers all University and College fees, the university application fee, a personal stipend for living expenses (£13,658 per annum 2014-15), private health insurance, and economy class airfare to and from Oxford at the commencement and conclusion of the scholarship.

Eligibility criteria

You must have a first degree by the time you start at Oxford, which means that you must be at least in the final year of your first degree when you apply for the  Scholarship. Generally, applicants from South African universities will have had to do very well in their discipline. You will need to obtain a first class or a very strong upper second class degree.

You must be a citizen or legal permanent resident of and have resided for at least five years within the period of ten years immediately preceding your application in South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia or Swaziland.

You must have reached your 19th and not have passed your 25th birthday on 01 October 2016, which means you must have been born after 30 September 1991 and on or before 01 October 1997.  For medical students and medical doctors the age limit is extended by three years.

How to apply

Your application must be submitted online by midnight, South African Standard Time (SAST) on 15 August 2019.

It is important to visit the official website and read the information brochure (links found below) for detailed and updated information on how to apply for this scholarship.

Scholarship website


Official contact

National Secretary for South Africa,
Ndumiso Luthuli,
Email: southernafrica.secretary@rhodestrust.com

Like Tweet Pin it Share Share Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *